The ITIL Intermediate Certificate in Continual Service Improvement (CSI) forms part of the Lifecycle series of Intermediate certification modules, which can be taken as stand-alone qualifications or with a view to amassing sufficient credits to gain the ITIL Service Management Expert qualification. It will give candidates a deep level of understanding of CSI processes and roles.

This course is intended to enable delegates with a Foundation-level knowledge of IT Service Management to apply good practice in processes pertaining to the CSI lifecycle phase. The course is interactive, combining presentation sessions and group exercises, with plenty of opportunity for questions and discussion. On completion of the course and the required personal study, delegates will be able to sit the ITIL Intermediate examination in Continual Service Improvement worth 3 credits.

Individuals who may find this course of interest include IT professionals working within or about to enter a CSI environment and requiring a detailed understanding of the processes, functions and activities involved, as well as those who are seeking the ITIL Expert qualification in IT Service Management.

What Are The Course Objectives?

The key objectives of this course are to enable participants to:

  • Understand the importance of CSI in the overall context of Service Management
  • Understand CSI Principles and Processes
  • Carry out common CSI activities
  • Organise CSI effectively
  • Recognise CSI technology-related activities
  • Understand how to implement CSI
  • Understand and analyse challenges, Critical Success Factors and risks related to CSI

Course Content:

  1. Introduction to CSI
  • – Purpose, Objectives and Scope of CSI
  • – CSI and Business Value
  • – The CSI Approach
  • – Interfaces with Other Lifecycle Phases
  1. CSI Principles
  2. CSI Processes
  • – Seven-Step Improvement Process
  1. CSI Methods and Techniques
  • – Assessments,Gap Analysis, Benchmarking,Service Measurement and Metrics
  • – ROI for CSI
  • – Service Reporting
  • – Availability Management Techniques
  • – Capacity Management Techniques
  • – CSI and ITSCM
  • – CSI and Problem Management
  • – CSI and Knowledge Management
  1. Organizing for CSI
  • – Generic Roles and Responsibilities
  • – Roles in the Seven-Step Improvement Process
  • – CSI Manager
  • – RACI Model
  1. Technology for CSI
  2. Implementing CSI
  • – Where to Start?
  • – Governance
  • – Organizational Change
  • – Communications Strategy and Plan
  1. Challenges, CSFs and Risks

What examinations are taken on the course?

ITIL® Continual Service Improvement Exam: 90 Mins, closed book, Eight complex multiple-choice questions choice questions

*If English is not your native language you will be awarded 25% extra time.