Project Description

This ITIL®V4 Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management three day course provides comprehensive first level training for anyone involved in provision, support, and delivery of IT Services.

Course Outline

The ITIL v4 Foundation course will cover the following:

  • Understand the key concepts of service management
    • 1 Recall the definition of:
      • a) Service
      • b) Utility
      • c) Warranty
      • d) Customer
      • e) User
      • f) Service management
      • g) Sponsor
    • 2 Describe the key concepts of creating value with:
      • a) Cost
      • b) Value
      • c) Organization
      • d) Outcome
      • e) Output
      • f) Risk
      • g) Utility
      • h) Warranty
    • 3 Describe the key concepts of service relationships:
      • a) Service offering
      • b) Service relationship management
      • c) Service provision
      • d) Service consumption
    • Understand how the ITIL guiding principles can help an organization adopt and adapt service management
      • 1 Describe the nature, use and interaction of the guiding principles
      • 2 Explain the use of the guiding principles
        • a) Focus on value
        • b) Start where you are
        • c) Progress iteratively with feedback
        • d) Collaborate and promote visibility
        • e) Think and work holistically
        • f) Keep it simple and practical
        • g) Optimize and automate
      • Understand the four dimensions of service management
        • 1 Describe the four dimensions of service management:
          • a) Organizations and people
          • b) Information and technology
          • c) Partners and suppliers
          • d) Value streams and processes
        • Understand the purpose and components of the ITIL service value system
          • 1 Describe the ITIL service value system
        • Understand the activities of the service value chain, and how they interconnect
          • 1 Describe the interconnected nature of the service value chain and how this supports value streams
          • 2 Describe the inputs, outputs and purpose of each value chain activity:
            • a) Plan
            • b) Improve
            • c) Engage
            • d) Design & transition
            • e) Obtain/build
            • f) Deliver & support
          • Know the purpose and key terms of 15 ITIL practices
            • 1 Recall the purpose of the following ITIL practices:
              • a) Information security management
              • b) Relationship management
              • c) Supplier management
              • d) IT asset management
              • e) Monitoring and event management
              • f) Release management
              • g) Service configuration management
              • h) Deployment management
              • i) Continual improvement
              • j) Change control
              • k) Incident management
              • l) Problem management
              • m) Service request management
              • n) Service desk
              • o) Service level management
            • 2 Recall definitions of the following ITIL terms:
              • a) Availability
              • b) IT asset
              • c) Event
              • d) Configuration item
              • e) Change
              • f) Incident
              • g) Problem
              • h) Known error
            • Understand 7 ITIL practices
              • 1 Explain the following ITIL practices in detail, including how they fit within the service value chain:
                • a) Continual improvement, including: – The continual improvement model
                • b) Change control
                • c) Incident management
                • d) Problem management
                • e) Service request management
                • f) Service desk
                • g) Service level management


Learning Outcomes

The Foundation level course enables you to understand a new way to look at IT Service Management through a Service Value System (SVS).

How is it different from ITIL v3? – Basically, ITIL v3 describes Service Management around 26 processes and functions that are part of a continuous process of 5 life cycles: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement. Remember that all of the v3 body of knowledge is still very worthwhile and relevant!

ITIL v4 takes you through a more evolved view of a Service Value System (SVS), which provides a holistic end-to-end picture of what it really means to contribute to business value, and also integrates concepts from models such as Lean IT, Agile and DevOps.

At the end of the ITIL v4 Foundation course, you will have an understanding of the following:

  • – The seven Guiding Principles of ITIL 4
  • – ITIL’s new Service Value Chain
  • – The Four dimensions of Service Management
  • – The 34 ITIL practices, with a focus on 15 of these
  • – Key concepts from Lean IT, Agile, DevOps, and Organizational Change Management, and why these are important to deliver business value

What examinations are taken on the course?

ITIL® v4 Foundation Exam: 1 hour, closed book, 40 multiple choice questions

*If English is not your native language you will be awarded 25% extra time.